What the Final Broker Reporting Rules Mean for Your Digital Asset Records

What the Final Broker Reporting Rules Mean for Your Digital Asset Records
Photo: FlippyFlink / Wikimedia Commons · CC0

Treasury and IRS final rules put gross proceeds reporting on Form 1099-DA starting with transactions on or after January 1, 2025, with basis reporting phasing in on January 1, 2026.

The useful answer first: Treasury and the IRS issued final regulations requiring brokers to report sales and exchanges of digital assets held for customers, and that reporting is required on the soon-to-be released Form 1099-DA beginning with transactions on or after January 1, 2025. For a household, the practical change is that a statement will arrive describing what was reported to the IRS, which helps when filing a return.

The rules phase in. Gross proceeds come first, basis comes a year later. The source also notes that the fact sheet was updated on 11/7/2025 to add frequently asked questions about broker reporting.

Who has to report, and when

The final regulations apply to brokers that take possession of the digital assets being sold by their customers. That includes operators of custodial digital asset trading platforms, certain digital asset hosted wallet providers, digital asset kiosks and certain processors of digital asset payments (PDAPs).

The phase-in dates are the part most worth marking on a calendar. Brokers must report gross proceeds for transactions effected on or after January 1, 2025. Brokers must report basis on certain transactions effected on or after January 1, 2026.

A separate provision covers real estate. Real estate professionals that are treated as brokers must report the fair market value of digital assets paid by buyers and received by sellers in real estate transactions with closing dates on or after January 1, 2026. That matters for households that use digital assets in a property transaction rather than simply trading on a platform.

What the form is meant to give a filer

The regulations are designed so taxpayers receive statements that include information reported to the IRS on Form 1099-DA, Digital Asset Proceeds from Broker Transactions. The stated purpose is to help people file their income tax returns and determine their tax obligations.

The source frames the benefit in terms of confidence and compliance: this information will give taxpayers confidence in reporting income from digital assets while improving compliance efforts. For a household, that suggests a straightforward use: compare the statement you receive with your own records before you file.

The regulations also provide gain and loss computation rules, basis determination rules and backup withholding rules applicable to digital asset sale and exchange transactions. Backup withholding is the mechanism that can apply when required taxpayer information is missing or incorrect, so the account details a household keeps on file are part of the story, not an afterthought.

Reporting relief and thresholds

The source states that additional guidance issued in two Notices and a Revenue Procedure provide transitional relief and guidance for brokers and taxpayers. Notice 2024-56 is named in the materials as providing information regarding the transition relief for brokers.

For certain sales of stablecoins and non-fungible tokens (NFTs), brokers may choose to report the transactions on an aggregate basis to the extent the sales exceed respective de minimis thresholds. A separate de minimis threshold also applies for PDAP sales. The source does not state the dollar amounts of those thresholds, so a household should not assume a specific figure from this page alone.

What is deliberately not covered

The final regulations do not include reporting requirements for brokers commonly known as decentralized or non-custodial brokers that do not take possession of the digital assets being sold or exchanged. Treasury and the IRS say they intend to provide rules for these brokers in a different set of final regulations.

That distinction is useful for anyone who keeps assets outside a custodial platform. The absence of a rule for those brokers in this package is a statement about scope, not a statement that no reporting will ever apply.

ItemStatus in the source
Gross proceeds reportingRequired for transactions effected on or after January 1, 2025
Basis reportingRequired on certain transactions effected on or after January 1, 2026
Real estate professional reporting of fair market valueClosing dates on or after January 1, 2026
Stablecoin and NFT aggregationOptional for brokers above de minimis thresholds
Decentralized or non-custodial brokersExcluded from this rule; intended for separate final regulations

What the source does not say

The source does not state the monetary amounts of any de minimis threshold for stablecoins, NFTs or PDAP sales. It does not specify which transactions count as "certain" for basis reporting beyond the January 1, 2026 date.

It does not give tax rates, does not describe how to calculate a specific household's gain, and does not address whether a particular platform qualifies as a broker that takes possession. It does not state the release date of Form 1099-DA beyond describing it as soon to be released, and it does not set out the contents of the two Notices or the Revenue Procedure beyond identifying transition relief.

Nothing here establishes a price, a return or a portfolio allocation for any digital asset, and nothing here should be read as advice for a particular household's situation.

How a household can use this

Keep the records that match the two reporting stages. For gross proceeds, the statement shows what was sold and for how much. For basis, the statement adds what was paid. A household that has kept its own purchase records is positioned to compare rather than reconstruct.

Watch the scope question as well. If assets sit on a custodial platform, kiosk or hosted wallet covered by the rule, a statement is expected. If they sit with a non-custodial arrangement, this package does not create a broker reporting obligation, and the separate rulemaking is the item to follow.

The source is a fact sheet, not a filing manual. Treat the dates and scope above as the confirmed elements, and treat the thresholds and detailed computation rules as items to confirm in the underlying guidance before relying on them.

Sources

Informational only. Not financial, legal or investment advice. Check the primary sources listed above before you act on anything here.